Happy Red Velvet Valentine’s Day

For two weeks, I’ve held off on using the ingredients to make red velvet cupcakes so I could serve them for Valentine’s week. Well! Sickness took over once again (What is it with this terrible season?!), and I could hardly get out of bed until maybe last night. Well at that point, I HAD to make the cupcakes because I promised a dessert for today’s church function. If it weren’t for my fantastic husband who purchased all the crazy ingredients, including a whole lot of red dye and these gorgeous flowers, and my deeply inspired doctor and bff, I would not have had enough energy to make them. I used natural sugar instead of refined, so the frosting is not pristine white, but it’s still Magnolia’s recipe…mostly. p.s. Who knows what they taste like? Not me! I’m too congested to savor any flavors…and since flavor is such an essential part of eating for me, I have no appetite. “I’m just one stomach flu away from my goal weight. ” — Emily, The Devil Wears Prada

redvelvet-963.jpg

redvelvet-961.jpg

redvelvet-964.jpg

redvelvet-962.jpg

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Happy Red Velvet Valentine’s Day

  1. being sick no es bueno!!!

    i love the red velvet cuppies!

  2. eileen

    i heard rave reviews of the cupcakes on sunday…unfortunately they were all gone when i went to get one.
    thank you for making them.
    hope you feel better soon.

  3. So sorry to hear about you being sick!! Hope you are feeling better soon. The cupcakes look delish!! The icing is so pretty and swirly. loves!

  4. Oh Darling, these cupcakes look heavenly! I just posted a Valentine’s mole recipe on my blog. I am so happy to find your blog. Check us out at IndependenceKids.blogspot.com.

  5. i NEED these cupcakes! nothing beats a perfect cupcake!

Leave a Reply

