Happy Leap(frog) Year

I am lucky enough to work one building over from the National Geographic (NG). It has a fun and unique gift shop and always great exhibits. When I find an occasion to slip out of the office because I’m so over what I’m working on, and it’s not necessarily under an ASAP deadline (rare), I take a peek at what’s showing at NG.

A couple of weeks ago, I needed just such a break, and was completely and pleasantly surprised to discover that the exhibit was of live frogs! I don’t know what it is, but they were awesome, and I could hardly pull myself away. I’m sure it also had something to do with frogs equaling lots of fun, and at the time, my work did not.

I really wanted Robert to swing by on a Friday (when he’s day-clubbing with no classes) and check the little guys out with me. How awesome was it that we were able to go yesterday, Leap Day? Unfortunately, we missed the actual leapfrog contest, but we still had a blast. It’s so strange, not being dramatic either, but I noticed that everyone in the place had a look of awe and goofy smiles on their faces. Why we so love these prehistoric- or cartoon-looking creatures, I have no idea, but we do. So here are a million photos of them. Eat your heart out Kermit (Who was also a part of a display, “Why We Love Frogs.”).

leapfrog-109.jpg

leapfrog-112.jpg

leapfrog-113.jpg

Underwater buddy.

leapfrog-114.jpg

Seafoam green is the new pink…actually the new pink is orange, but that’s a different topic.

leapfrog-115.jpg

Dart frogs = the most poisonous venom in the WORLD. Hunters and ticked off people grace their darts with this venom. The darts can remain poisonous up to a year after application.

leapfrog-116.jpg

More adorable darts.

leapfrog-117.jpg

Do you see her boyfriends behind her?

leapfrog-118.jpg

This guy is crazy vicious.

leapfrog-120.jpg

See?

leapfrog-121.jpg

leapfrog-123.jpg

Talk about leapfrog. Doesn’t it look like they know something we don’t?

leapfrog-124.jpg

Beside the tall, dark, and handsome guy is a frog doing a crazy mating ritual. If a frog can’t sing (ribbit) loud enough to attract the attention of his lover to-be, he puffs up his throat and throws one leg out to one side and then the other to make a total love-sick fool of himself.

leapfrog-125.jpg

He kind of reminds me of a puppy with his head cocked to the side. I like puppies too.

leapfrog-126.jpg

leapfrog-127.jpg

Kiss.

leapfrog-110.jpg

leapfrog-111.jpg

leapfrog-128.jpg

Thanks, R, for the fantastic Friday lunch date!

leapfrog-129.jpg

Saying goodbye.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Happy Leap(frog) Year

  1. adorable! i think we need to come visit!

  2. Is that still up? Erich would love it! How awesome that you went together on Leap Day! You guys are so fun!

Leave a Reply

